Students withdrawing will be charged tuition and recurring fees on the following basis1:

Period of attendance from start of semester Percent of the semester rate to be charged
During the first week10%
During the second week20%
During the third week40%
During the fourth week60%
During the fifth week80%
Over five weeks100%

Students withdrawing from a term shorter than the traditional semester will be charged tuition and recurring fees on a prorated basis.

Refunds of room rent due to withdrawal from the University will be prorated on a weekly basis.

1

Nonrecurring fees, the application fee, the University fee, the University technology fee, and penalty fees will be charged in full, regardless of the period of attendance.

Full time students who withdraw from a course after the last day for registration changes but remain full-time (12 or more credit hours) receive no refund. If a full-time student withdraws to part-time status, refund of the difference between the full-time tuition charge and the per-credit-hour charge for the courses being continued will be made in accordance with the schedule applicable in the event of total withdrawal. Students assessed tuition per credit hour, including part-time students, graduate students and students in a summer session, will be charged for courses dropped in accordance with the schedule applicable in the event of total withdrawal.

State Specific Refund Policy

Some states where the University has authorization to operate require a separate tuition refund policy for their residents. These are described below.

Wisconsin Residents* (for Wisconsin residents enrolled in on-line programs/courses).

Students have the right to cancel enrollment until midnight of the third business day after receipt of notice of acceptance and are entitled to a full refund of any tuition and other monies paid such as deposits or application fees. Refunds for cancellation will be paid within 10 days.

Students who withdraw before completing 60 percent of the term are entitled to partial refunds, prorated in accordance with Wisconsin state policies. The pro rata refund is calculated by the number of class days remaining in the term after the last day completed, divided by the total number of class-days, rounded down to the nearest 10 percent, less a one time application fee [$50 for undergraduate, $30 for SPAHP and $30 for graduate]. The pro rata refund percentage will be applied to tuition and other required costs paid by the student for the term.

All efforts will be made to refund “prepaid” expenses, books, supplies and other charges billed in advance directly to a student’s account; unless the student has consumed or used those items and they can no longer be used or returned.

The school will issue refunds within 40 days of the effective date of termination. A written notice of withdrawal is not required. A registered student will be considered as having withdrawn from the University after two consecutive weeks of unexplained absence.

No refund is required for any student who withdraws or is dismissed after completing 60 percent of the potential units of instruction in the current enrollment period unless a student withdraws due to mitigating circumstances, which are those that directly prohibit pursuit of a program and which are beyond the student’s control.

*The federal guidelines for returning federal Title IV funds will remain intact with NO exceptions.

  1. Class day is any day of the term when any class is in session, regardless of whether or not a specific course is scheduled to be held on that day.
  2. The nonrecurring, penalty, and special service fees include deferred payment, University fee, University technology fee, late payment, special  examination/evaluation, challenge examination, recording, tuition remission administrative fee, orientation fee, and locker.