Honor Societies and Fraternities

Alpha Sigma Nu, National Jesuit Honor Society, was founded at Marquette University in 1915, and the Creighton Chapter was established in 1921. In 1973 Gamma Pi Epsilon, the women’s honor society, merged with Alpha Sigma Nu. Currently there are chapters at all 28 Jesuit colleges and universities in the United States and at Sogang University in Seoul, Korea. Scholarship, loyalty, and service are the threefold requirements for membership in the society. Membership is highly selective and is awarded on the recommendations of the local chapter, the faculty, the deans, and with the approval of the University president. Outstanding undergraduates in their junior and senior years and professional and graduate students are eligible. Membership is prized as one of the most notable distinctions which can be won by a student in a Jesuit institution of higher learning. Each year the campus chapter inducts about 42 students from all divisions. The alumni chapter’s living members number over 2,300 persons. At graduation, members of the student chapter automatically transfer into membership in the alumni chapter.

Omicron Delta Kappa, the National Leadership Honor Society, was founded in 1914 at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia. The Creighton Chapter was officially approved in 1988 and joins over 200 established chapters in colleges and universities across the country. ODK was founded to recognize and encourage superior leadership and scholarship. Creighton’s chapter sponsors a variety of programs each year designed to meet those goals. Membership is a mark of highest distinction and honor and is open to qualifying undergraduate juniors and seniors, graduate and professional students.

Membership in Omicron Kappa Upsilon, national honorary dental fraternity, is presented to senior students who, in addition to scholarship, have demonstrated exemplary traits of character and potential qualities of future professional growth and attainments. Not more than 12 percent of each graduating class is eligible. One junior student is awarded the Omicron Kappa Upsilon William Kramer Award for Excellence. This award is presented to the junior student who has demonstrated scholarship and promise in the advancement of Dentistry.